Annual Report

Explore MBARI’s amazing deep-sea discoveries

Discoveries are reminders that we know so little about the ocean, Earth's largest habitat.

President and Chief Executive Officer Chris Scholin reflects on our ocean's future as we approach the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing.

Learn more

2018 Award Recipients

Peter Brewer

National Science and Technology Award , The People’s Republic of China

Steve Haddock

Ed Ricketts Memorial Award Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Bill Kirkwood

Autonomous Underwater Systems Lifetime Technical Achievement Award , Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers/Oceanic Engineering Society

Jacki Long

Sackett Prize for Innovative Research , University of South Florida

Victoria Orphan

Distinguished Scientist and Scholar Award, NOMIS Foundation

Charles Paull

Francis P. Shepard Award for Excellence in Marine Geology, Society for Sedimentary Geology

John Ryan

Visiting Fellowship of Antarctic Gateway Partnership, University of Tasmania, Australia

Yanwu Zhang

Visiting Fellowship of Antarctic Gateway Partnership University of Tasmania, Australia

Honorable Mention, Diet Secrets of the Deep and Fathomous

Anela Choy, Steve Haddock, Bruce Robison, Kyra Schlining, Susan von Thun

MBARI’s Information and Technology Dissemination Division

2020 Marine Education Award for outstanding work and leadership by an organization